Skip to content

SIDE BY SIDE · FACTS ONLY

Axonius vs Tenable: asset inventory facts side by side

SHORT ANSWER

Axonius describes 3 of the five approaches on the pages we read and Tenable describes 3; they differ on CAASM aggregation, External attack surface management and CMDB-centred inventory. On collection, Axonius works without new agents and Tenable does not describe its collection method on the pages we read. Many estates run two of these approaches together, so the question is often which pair, not which one; we do not score either.

By The Inventory Desk · CAASM Finder · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

How do their approaches compare?

Axonius: described for 2 of 5 approaches, with a condition for 1.CAASMConnectdescribedconditionAGENTCollectnot in sourcesnot in sourcesEASMOutside-innot in sourcesdescribedCMDBRecordconditionnot in sourcesEXPOPrioritisedescribeddescribed
  • Top bar: Axonius
  • Lower bar, lighter: Tenable One
  • Full bar: described on the vendor's pages we read
  • Hatched bar: described with a condition (another product, a higher tier, or part of the approach)
  • Stub: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The bars show what each vendor's own pages describe, or how your answers weigh the five approaches. They are not a measure of how well a product works.

What are the facts, side by side?

From each vendor's own pages. Differs marks rows where the recorded status or check value differs.
FactAxoniusTenable One
Positioning

Axonius grew out of cyber asset attack surface management (CAASM) into a broader asset intelligence platform. Axonius describes the Axonius Asset Cloud: it connects to the tools a company already runs through adapters (its directory lists 1,306), correlates what each one reports into one record per asset, and acts on gaps through workflows and bi-directional integrations.

Tenable's exposure management platform. Tenable Attack Surface Management, part of Tenable One, maps external assets from a map of more than 5 billion assets; Tenable One adds attack path analysis, Hexa AI remediation and connectors for third-party data.

Deployment

Hosted SaaS, or self-managed on-premises or in your own cloud. The hosted option runs on an AWS EC2 instance separated from other customers' environments.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Tenable Attack Surface Management is sold through a demo request, not online.

Source: Tenable: buy · Read 27 Sep 2026

CAASM aggregationDiffersDescribed

Its adapter directory lists 1,306 adapters to security and IT tools; correlating what each reports into one record per asset is the core of the product.

Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

With a condition

Tenable One Connectors bring third-party data into the platform; a unified asset inventory is not described in detail on the pages we read.

Source: Tenable One · Read 27 Sep 2026

Agent-based inventoryNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

External attack surface managementDiffersNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Described

Identifies domains related to your inventory from a map of 5 billion+ assets with 200+ metadata fields.

Source: Tenable Attack Surface Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

CMDB-centred inventoryDiffersWith a condition

Works alongside a CMDB rather than replacing it: the ServiceNow adapter fetches CMDB tables for reconciliation, and enforcement actions create, update or remove ServiceNow assets.

Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Exposure managementDescribed

A smart prioritization engine and single or multi-step workflows sit on the correlated inventory; prioritization draws on findings from the tools you connect.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Described

Tenable One is Tenable's exposure management platform, with attack path analysis across 150+ techniques and Hexa AI automated remediation.

Source: Tenable One · Read 27 Sep 2026

Servers and network devicesPartly

Network devices are covered through adapters to network tools; a native network scanner is not described.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Tenable One includes vulnerability management alongside external attack surface data.

Source: Tenable: buy · Read 27 Sep 2026

Cloud workloadsDiffersMatches

Cloud is a listed asset type.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
SaaS applicationsDiffersMatches

Discovers sanctioned, unsanctioned and unmanaged SaaS, including shadow apps, OAuth tokens and risky extensions.

Source: Axonius: SaaS applications · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Identities as assetsDiffersMatches

Human and non-human identities, including service accounts, API keys and automation identities.

Source: Axonius: identities · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Off-network laptopsDiffersPartly

Devices are collected through the endpoint and management tools you connect, such as Microsoft Intune or CrowdStrike Falcon; no Axonius agent is described.

Source: Axonius docs: Microsoft Intune adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources
OT and IoT devicesDiffersMatches

IoT and OT are listed asset types.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Internet-facing discoveryDiffersNot in our sourcesMatches

A 5 billion+ asset map with 200+ metadata fields.

Source: Tenable Attack Surface Management · Read 27 Sep 2026

Offers its own agentNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Works without new agentsDiffersMatches

Collects through adapters (API connections) to tools you already run; the pages we read describe no Axonius endpoint agent.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Merges records from several sourcesDiffersMatches

Correlates data from every connected adapter into one record per asset.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Tenable One Connectors bring third-party data into the platform.

Source: Tenable One · Read 27 Sep 2026

Feeds or updates a CMDBDiffersMatches

Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents.

Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources
Cross-source queries and reportsDiffersMatches

Query Wizard for questions across all connected sources.

Source: Axonius documentation · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Workflows, tickets or actionsDiffersMatches

Workflows run single actions or multi-step sequences with ticket tracking; enforcement sets live in the Action Center.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Hexa AI orchestrates automated remediation in Tenable One.

Source: Tenable One · Read 27 Sep 2026

Price or pricing basis publishedDiffersMatches

Device-based pricing is published: the pricing page shows a starting rate of $8.55 per asset for 15,000 to 24,999 assets, and each device seen by several tools counts once.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Partly

Attack Surface Management is not sold online; Tenable publishes adjacent prices, such as Tenable One Vulnerability Management at $3,700 for one year for up to 250 assets.

Source: Tenable: buy · Read 27 Sep 2026

Free tier or trialDiffersNot in our sourcesPartly

Free trials for Tenable One Vulnerability Management and Nessus; the Tenable One platform and its exposure products are demo only.

Source: Tenable free trials · Read 11 Oct 2026

Platform it is part ofNone

Tenable: External findings sit in Tenable One next to Tenable vulnerability data.

Source: Tenable One · Read 27 Sep 2026

Integrations

1,306 adapters in its adapter directory, including documented adapters for CrowdStrike Falcon, Tenable Vulnerability Management, Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM, Microsoft Intune and Entra ID, and ServiceNow. We did not reproduce the full list.

Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

Tenable One Connectors bring third-party data into the platform.

Source: Tenable One · Read 27 Sep 2026

Price

Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Attack Surface Management: demo request only. Adjacent published price: Tenable One Vulnerability Management at $3,700 for one year for up to 250 assets.

Source: Tenable: buy · Read 27 Sep 2026

Where do they differ?

  • CAASM aggregation: Axonius describes it; Tenable describes it with a condition.
  • External attack surface management: Axonius is not in our sources; Tenable describes it.
  • CMDB-centred inventory: Axonius describes it with a condition; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Cloud workloads: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • SaaS applications: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Identities as assets: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Off-network laptops: Axonius partly matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • OT and IoT devices: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Internet-facing discovery: Axonius is not in our sources; Tenable matches.
  • Works without new agents: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Merges records from several sources: Axonius matches; Tenable partly matches.
  • Feeds or updates a CMDB: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Cross-source queries and reports: Axonius matches; Tenable is not in our sources.
  • Workflows, tickets or actions: Axonius matches; Tenable partly matches.
  • Price or pricing basis published: Axonius matches; Tenable partly matches.
  • Free tier or trial: Axonius is not in our sources; Tenable partly matches.

Can they work together?

Yes, on the pages we read:

  • Documents a Tenable Vulnerability Management adapter.

    Source: Axonius docs: Tenable Vulnerability Management adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

  • 1,306 adapters in its adapter directory, including documented adapters for CrowdStrike Falcon, Tenable Vulnerability Management, Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM, Microsoft Intune and Entra ID, and ServiceNow. We did not reproduce the full list.

    Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

Choose Axonius if

  • You already run many security and IT tools and they disagree about what exists
  • You need SaaS apps and identities in the same inventory as devices, with workflows to close gaps

Choose Tenable if

  • You already run Tenable vulnerability management
  • Your question is which exposures to fix first more than which assets exist

Which limits should you check?

Axonius

  • Coverage depends on the tools you connect: each adapter needs API access and credentials, and no agent or native network scanner of its own is described.
  • External (internet-facing) discovery is not described on the pages we read.
  • No free tier or trial is listed on the pages we read, and the AWS Marketplace listing prices 500 assets at $90,625 for 12 months.

Tenable

  • Attack Surface Management and the Tenable One platform are demo only; free trials cover Vulnerability Management and Nessus.
  • A unified internal asset inventory, SaaS apps and identities are not described on the pages we read.

Questions people ask

Is Axonius or Tenable better?

Neither is scored on this site. Axonius describes 3 of five approaches and Tenable 3 on the pages we read, and they differ on 16 recorded facts. Which fits depends on where your assets live, whether you can install agents, your CMDB and your tools; the finder checks those.

Do Axonius and Tenable work with a CMDB?

Axonius: Matches. Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents. Tenable: Not in our sources.

Do Axonius or Tenable publish prices?

Axonius: Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract. Tenable: Attack Surface Management: demo request only. Adjacent published price: Tenable One Vulnerability Management at $3,700 for one year for up to 250 assets.

Read next

One of 45 side-by-sides. All side-by-sides