SIDE BY SIDE · FACTS ONLY
Armis vs Axonius: asset inventory facts side by side
SHORT ANSWER
Armis describes 4 of the five approaches on the pages we read and Axonius describes 3; they differ on CAASM aggregation and Agent-based inventory. On collection, Armis works without new agents and Axonius works without new agents. Many estates run two of these approaches together, so the question is often which pair, not which one; we do not score either.
By The Inventory Desk · CAASM Finder · Published 2026-10-11
Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
How do their approaches compare?
- Top bar: Armis Centrix
- Lower bar, lighter: Axonius
- Full bar: described on the vendor's pages we read
- Hatched bar: described with a condition (another product, a higher tier, or part of the approach)
- Stub: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
What are the facts, side by side?
| Fact | Armis Centrix | Axonius |
|---|---|---|
| Positioning | Armis calls Centrix a Cyber Exposure Management Platform. It builds an inventory of IT, OT, IoT and medical devices from agentless, passive discovery and adds modules for prioritization and remediation. | Axonius grew out of cyber asset attack surface management (CAASM) into a broader asset intelligence platform. Axonius describes the Axonius Asset Cloud: it connects to the tools a company already runs through adapters (its directory lists 1,306), correlates what each one reports into one record per asset, and acts on gaps through workflows and bi-directional integrations. |
| Deployment | A cloud platform with no on-premises hardware to install or manage for the asset management module. Source: Armis Centrix for Asset Management and Security · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Hosted SaaS, or self-managed on-premises or in your own cloud. The hosted option runs on an AWS EC2 instance separated from other customers' environments. Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| CAASM aggregationDiffers | With a condition Builds most of its inventory from its own agentless discovery and enriches it through more than 200 pre-built integrations. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Described Its adapter directory lists 1,306 adapters to security and IT tools; correlating what each reports into one record per asset is the core of the product. Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Agent-based inventoryDiffers | With a condition Collects its own data without agents: agentless, passive discovery of managed and unmanaged devices. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Not in our sources Not described on the pages we read. |
| External attack surface management | Not in our sources Not described on the pages we read. | Not in our sources Not described on the pages we read. |
| CMDB-centred inventory | With a condition Pushes enriched asset data back to your CMDB rather than replacing it. Source: Armis Centrix for Asset Management and Security · Read 11 Oct 2026 | With a condition Works alongside a CMDB rather than replacing it: the ServiceNow adapter fetches CMDB tables for reconciliation, and enforcement actions create, update or remove ServiceNow assets. Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Exposure management | Described Sold as a Cyber Exposure Management Platform, with VIPR-Pro Prioritization and Remediation, Vulnerability Management Detection and Response, and Early Warning modules. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Described A smart prioritization engine and single or multi-step workflows sit on the correlated inventory; prioritization draws on findings from the tools you connect. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Servers and network devicesDiffers | Matches IT devices, managed or unmanaged, through agentless passive discovery. Source: Armis Centrix for Asset Management and Security · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Partly Network devices are covered through adapters to network tools; a native network scanner is not described. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Cloud workloads | Matches Cloud instances and hybrid VMs are covered. Source: Armis Centrix for Asset Management and Security · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Matches Cloud is a listed asset type. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| SaaS applicationsDiffers | Not in our sources | Matches Discovers sanctioned, unsanctioned and unmanaged SaaS, including shadow apps, OAuth tokens and risky extensions. Source: Axonius: SaaS applications · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Identities as assetsDiffers | Not in our sources | Matches Human and non-human identities, including service accounts, API keys and automation identities. Source: Axonius: identities · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Off-network laptopsDiffers | Not in our sources | Partly Devices are collected through the endpoint and management tools you connect, such as Microsoft Intune or CrowdStrike Falcon; no Axonius agent is described. Source: Axonius docs: Microsoft Intune adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| OT and IoT devices | Matches OT and IoT devices, and medical devices through a separate module. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Matches IoT and OT are listed asset types. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Internet-facing discovery | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Offers its own agentDiffers | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Works without new agents | Matches Agentless and passive. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Matches Collects through adapters (API connections) to tools you already run; the pages we read describe no Axonius endpoint agent. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Merges records from several sourcesDiffers | Partly Identifies assets against a knowledgebase of over 6.5 billion assets; how records from integrations merge is not described in detail. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Matches Correlates data from every connected adapter into one record per asset. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Feeds or updates a CMDB | Matches Pushes enriched data back to your CMDB. Source: Armis Centrix for Asset Management and Security · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Matches Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents. Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Cross-source queries and reportsDiffers | Not in our sources | Matches Query Wizard for questions across all connected sources. Source: Axonius documentation · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Workflows, tickets or actionsDiffers | Partly Prioritization and remediation sit in the separate VIPR-Pro module. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | Matches Workflows run single actions or multi-step sequences with ticket tracking; enforcement sets live in the Action Center. Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 |
| Price or pricing basis publishedDiffers | Partly AWS Marketplace listing: Centrix Standard minimum at $3,250 a month on a one-month contract; no price on armis.com. Source: AWS Marketplace: Armis Device Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Matches Device-based pricing is published: the pricing page shows a starting rate of $8.55 per asset for 15,000 to 24,999 assets, and each device seen by several tools counts once. Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Free tier or trial | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Platform it is part of | None | None |
| Integrations | More than 200 pre-built integrations. Source: Armis Centrix platform · Read 27 Sep 2026 | 1,306 adapters in its adapter directory, including documented adapters for CrowdStrike Falcon, Tenable Vulnerability Management, Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM, Microsoft Intune and Entra ID, and ServiceNow. We did not reproduce the full list. Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
| Price | No price on armis.com. AWS Marketplace listing: Centrix Standard minimum at $3,250 a month on a one-month contract, with private offers. Source: AWS Marketplace: Armis Device Security Platform · Read 11 Oct 2026 | Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract. Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026 |
Where do they differ?
- CAASM aggregation: Armis describes it with a condition; Axonius describes it.
- Agent-based inventory: Armis describes it with a condition; Axonius is not in our sources.
- Servers and network devices: Armis matches; Axonius partly matches.
- SaaS applications: Armis is not in our sources; Axonius matches.
- Identities as assets: Armis is not in our sources; Axonius matches.
- Off-network laptops: Armis is not in our sources; Axonius partly matches.
- Merges records from several sources: Armis partly matches; Axonius matches.
- Cross-source queries and reports: Armis is not in our sources; Axonius matches.
- Workflows, tickets or actions: Armis partly matches; Axonius matches.
- Price or pricing basis published: Armis partly matches; Axonius matches.
Can they work together?
Neither vendor's pages we read name the other as an integration. That does not mean they cannot work together; ask both vendors.
Choose Armis if
- Your estate includes OT, IoT or medical devices that cannot take an agent
- You want device discovery and exposure modules from one vendor that is now part of ServiceNow
Choose Axonius if
- You already run many security and IT tools and they disagree about what exists
- You need SaaS apps and identities in the same inventory as devices, with workflows to close gaps
Which limits should you check?
Armis
- No price on armis.com; the only public figure is an AWS Marketplace minimum.
- SaaS applications and identities are not described as asset classes on the pages we read.
- Prioritization and remediation sit in separately named modules.
Axonius
- Coverage depends on the tools you connect: each adapter needs API access and credentials, and no agent or native network scanner of its own is described.
- External (internet-facing) discovery is not described on the pages we read.
- No free tier or trial is listed on the pages we read, and the AWS Marketplace listing prices 500 assets at $90,625 for 12 months.
Questions people ask
Is Armis or Axonius better?
Neither is scored on this site. Armis describes 4 of five approaches and Axonius 3 on the pages we read, and they differ on 10 recorded facts. Which fits depends on where your assets live, whether you can install agents, your CMDB and your tools; the finder checks those.
Do Armis and Axonius work with a CMDB?
Armis: Matches. Pushes enriched data back to your CMDB. Axonius: Matches. Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents.
Do Armis or Axonius publish prices?
Armis: No price on armis.com. AWS Marketplace listing: Centrix Standard minimum at $3,250 a month on a one-month contract, with private offers. Axonius: Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract.
Read next
- Armis Centrix notes
Every recorded fact for Armis.
- Axonius notes
Every recorded fact for Axonius.
- Armis and Censys
Another side-by-side.
- Axonius and Censys
Another side-by-side.
- Asset census
Compare two to five vendors in columns.
One of 45 side-by-sides. All side-by-sides