Skip to content

SIDE BY SIDE · FACTS ONLY

Axonius vs Rapid7: asset inventory facts side by side

SHORT ANSWER

Axonius describes 3 of the five approaches on the pages we read and Rapid7 describes 3; they differ on External attack surface management, CMDB-centred inventory and Exposure management. On collection, Axonius works without new agents and Rapid7 does not describe its collection method on the pages we read. Many estates run two of these approaches together, so the question is often which pair, not which one; we do not score either.

By The Inventory Desk · CAASM Finder · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

How do their approaches compare?

Axonius: described for 2 of 5 approaches, with a condition for 1.CAASMConnectdescribeddescribedAGENTCollectnot in sourcesnot in sourcesEASMOutside-innot in sourcesdescribedCMDBRecordconditionnot in sourcesEXPOPrioritisedescribedcondition
  • Top bar: Axonius
  • Lower bar, lighter: Rapid7 Surface Command
  • Full bar: described on the vendor's pages we read
  • Hatched bar: described with a condition (another product, a higher tier, or part of the approach)
  • Stub: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The bars show what each vendor's own pages describe, or how your answers weigh the five approaches. They are not a measure of how well a product works.

What are the facts, side by side?

From each vendor's own pages. Differs marks rows where the recorded status or check value differs.
FactAxoniusRapid7 Surface Command
Positioning

Axonius grew out of cyber asset attack surface management (CAASM) into a broader asset intelligence platform. Axonius describes the Axonius Asset Cloud: it connects to the tools a company already runs through adapters (its directory lists 1,306), correlates what each one reports into one record per asset, and acts on gaps through workflows and bi-directional integrations.

Rapid7's attack surface product, combining external discovery (EASM) with asset discovery and a unified internal and external inventory (CAASM), part of the Rapid7 Command platform.

Deployment

Hosted SaaS, or self-managed on-premises or in your own cloud. The hosted option runs on an AWS EC2 instance separated from other customers' environments.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Part of the Rapid7 Command platform with Exposure Command, InsightVM and InsightCloudSec.

Source: Rapid7 products · Read 27 Sep 2026

CAASM aggregationDescribed

Its adapter directory lists 1,306 adapters to security and IT tools; correlating what each reports into one record per asset is the core of the product.

Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

Described

Asset discovery and a unified inventory (CAASM) including devices, software, identities and controls.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Agent-based inventoryNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

External attack surface managementDiffersNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Described

Internal and external attack surface visibility (EASM), including unknown internet-facing assets and shadow IT.

Source: Rapid7 Surface Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

CMDB-centred inventoryDiffersWith a condition

Works alongside a CMDB rather than replacing it: the ServiceNow adapter fetches CMDB tables for reconciliation, and enforcement actions create, update or remove ServiceNow assets.

Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Exposure managementDiffersDescribed

A smart prioritization engine and single or multi-step workflows sit on the correlated inventory; prioritization draws on findings from the tools you connect.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

With a condition

Includes an Exposure Management dashboard and remediation hub; vulnerability scanning sits in the Exposure Command Essentials tier above it.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Servers and network devicesPartly

Network devices are covered through adapters to network tools; a native network scanner is not described.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Internal attack surface visibility is described; network devices are not called out.

Source: Rapid7 Surface Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

Cloud workloadsDiffersMatches

Cloud is a listed asset type.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

InsightCloudSec sits in the same platform.

Source: Rapid7 products · Read 27 Sep 2026

SaaS applicationsDiffersMatches

Discovers sanctioned, unsanctioned and unmanaged SaaS, including shadow apps, OAuth tokens and risky extensions.

Source: Axonius: SaaS applications · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Identities as assetsMatches

Human and non-human identities, including service accounts, API keys and automation identities.

Source: Axonius: identities · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

Identities are part of the unified inventory.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Off-network laptopsDiffersPartly

Devices are collected through the endpoint and management tools you connect, such as Microsoft Intune or CrowdStrike Falcon; no Axonius agent is described.

Source: Axonius docs: Microsoft Intune adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources
OT and IoT devicesDiffersMatches

IoT and OT are listed asset types.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Internet-facing discoveryDiffersNot in our sourcesMatches

External attack surface visibility (EASM).

Source: Rapid7 Surface Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

Offers its own agentNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Works without new agentsDiffersMatches

Collects through adapters (API connections) to tools you already run; the pages we read describe no Axonius endpoint agent.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Merges records from several sourcesMatches

Correlates data from every connected adapter into one record per asset.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

A unified asset inventory (CAASM).

Source: Rapid7 Surface Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

Feeds or updates a CMDBDiffersMatches

Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents.

Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Not in our sources
Cross-source queries and reportsDiffersMatches

Query Wizard for questions across all connected sources.

Source: Axonius documentation · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Asset graph and blast radius views.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Workflows, tickets or actionsMatches

Workflows run single actions or multi-step sequences with ticket tracking; enforcement sets live in the Action Center.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

Remediation hub and built-in, SOAR-ready automation and integrations in the Surface Command package.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Price or pricing basis publishedDiffersMatches

Device-based pricing is published: the pricing page shows a starting rate of $8.55 per asset for 15,000 to 24,999 assets, and each device seen by several tools counts once.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Partly

Pricing basis published: asset types and use cases in scope; no amounts.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Free tier or trialDiffersNot in our sourcesMatches

Public trial.

Source: Rapid7 Surface Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

Platform it is part ofNone

Rapid7: Shares the Command platform with Exposure Command, InsightVM and InsightCloudSec.

Source: Rapid7 products · Read 27 Sep 2026

Integrations

1,306 adapters in its adapter directory, including documented adapters for CrowdStrike Falcon, Tenable Vulnerability Management, Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM, Microsoft Intune and Entra ID, and ServiceNow. We did not reproduce the full list.

Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

SOAR-ready integrations, with Exposure Command, InsightVM and InsightCloudSec in the same platform.

Source: Rapid7 Surface Command · Read 27 Sep 2026

Price

Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

No amounts published. Priced on the asset types and use cases in scope; Start Trial offered. Exposure Command Essentials adds vulnerability scanning and Ultimate adds cloud, IaC and DAST.

Source: Rapid7 Command platform packages and pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Where do they differ?

  • External attack surface management: Axonius is not in our sources; Rapid7 describes it.
  • CMDB-centred inventory: Axonius describes it with a condition; Rapid7 is not in our sources.
  • Exposure management: Axonius describes it; Rapid7 describes it with a condition.
  • Cloud workloads: Axonius matches; Rapid7 partly matches.
  • SaaS applications: Axonius matches; Rapid7 is not in our sources.
  • Off-network laptops: Axonius partly matches; Rapid7 is not in our sources.
  • OT and IoT devices: Axonius matches; Rapid7 is not in our sources.
  • Internet-facing discovery: Axonius is not in our sources; Rapid7 matches.
  • Works without new agents: Axonius matches; Rapid7 is not in our sources.
  • Feeds or updates a CMDB: Axonius matches; Rapid7 is not in our sources.
  • Cross-source queries and reports: Axonius matches; Rapid7 partly matches.
  • Price or pricing basis published: Axonius matches; Rapid7 partly matches.
  • Free tier or trial: Axonius is not in our sources; Rapid7 matches.

Can they work together?

Yes, on the pages we read:

  • Documents a Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM adapter.

    Source: Axonius docs: Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

  • 1,306 adapters in its adapter directory, including documented adapters for CrowdStrike Falcon, Tenable Vulnerability Management, Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM, Microsoft Intune and Entra ID, and ServiceNow. We did not reproduce the full list.

    Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

Choose Axonius if

  • You already run many security and IT tools and they disagree about what exists
  • You need SaaS apps and identities in the same inventory as devices, with workflows to close gaps

Choose Rapid7 if

  • You already run InsightVM or another Rapid7 product
  • You want internal and external assets in one inventory

Which limits should you check?

Axonius

  • Coverage depends on the tools you connect: each adapter needs API access and credentials, and no agent or native network scanner of its own is described.
  • External (internet-facing) discovery is not described on the pages we read.
  • No free tier or trial is listed on the pages we read, and the AWS Marketplace listing prices 500 assets at $90,625 for 12 months.

Rapid7

  • No price amounts published; pricing depends on the asset types and use cases in scope.
  • Vulnerability scanning sits in the Exposure Command tiers, and SaaS apps and OT are not described on the pages we read.

Questions people ask

Is Axonius or Rapid7 better?

Neither is scored on this site. Axonius describes 3 of five approaches and Rapid7 3 on the pages we read, and they differ on 13 recorded facts. Which fits depends on where your assets live, whether you can install agents, your CMDB and your tools; the finder checks those.

Do Axonius and Rapid7 work with a CMDB?

Axonius: Matches. Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents. Rapid7: Not in our sources.

Do Axonius or Rapid7 publish prices?

Axonius: Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract. Rapid7: No amounts published. Priced on the asset types and use cases in scope; Start Trial offered. Exposure Command Essentials adds vulnerability scanning and Ultimate adds cloud, IaC and DAST.

Read next

One of 45 side-by-sides. All side-by-sides