Skip to content

SIDE BY SIDE · FACTS ONLY

Axonius vs runZero: asset inventory facts side by side

SHORT ANSWER

Axonius describes 3 of the five approaches on the pages we read and runZero describes 3; they differ on Agent-based inventory and Exposure management. On collection, Axonius works without new agents and runZero works without new agents. Many estates run two of these approaches together, so the question is often which pair, not which one; we do not score either.

By The Inventory Desk · CAASM Finder · Published 2026-10-11

Desk research from public vendor pages read on 27 September and 11 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

How do their approaches compare?

Axonius: described for 2 of 5 approaches, with a condition for 1.CAASMConnectdescribeddescribedAGENTCollectnot in sourcesconditionEASMOutside-innot in sourcesnot in sourcesCMDBRecordconditionconditionEXPOPrioritisedescribednot in sources
  • Top bar: Axonius
  • Lower bar, lighter: runZero
  • Full bar: described on the vendor's pages we read
  • Hatched bar: described with a condition (another product, a higher tier, or part of the approach)
  • Stub: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The bars show what each vendor's own pages describe, or how your answers weigh the five approaches. They are not a measure of how well a product works.

What are the facts, side by side?

From each vendor's own pages. Differs marks rows where the recorded status or check value differs.
FactAxoniusrunZero
Positioning

Axonius grew out of cyber asset attack surface management (CAASM) into a broader asset intelligence platform. Axonius describes the Axonius Asset Cloud: it connects to the tools a company already runs through adapters (its directory lists 1,306), correlates what each one reports into one record per asset, and acts on gaps through workflows and bi-directional integrations.

An asset discovery platform that runZero describes as CAASM: active scanning, passive discovery for fragile OT networks and integrations, with each asset profiled against nearly 1,000 attributes.

Deployment

Hosted SaaS, or self-managed on-premises or in your own cloud. The hosted option runs on an AWS EC2 instance separated from other customers' environments.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

SaaS or on-premises, including air-gapped environments; no agents, authentication or appliances required.

Source: runZero platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

CAASM aggregationDescribed

Its adapter directory lists 1,306 adapters to security and IT tools; correlating what each reports into one record per asset is the core of the product.

Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

Described

Describes itself as CAASM: integrations with ServiceNow, CrowdStrike, Intune, AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, Entra ID, Tenable, Rapid7, Qualys and others combine with its own scan data.

Source: runZero integrations · Read 27 Sep 2026

Agent-based inventoryDiffersNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

With a condition

Collects its own data by active scanning and passive discovery, without agents.

Source: runZero platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

External attack surface managementNot in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

CMDB-centred inventoryWith a condition

Works alongside a CMDB rather than replacing it: the ServiceNow adapter fetches CMDB tables for reconciliation, and enforcement actions create, update or remove ServiceNow assets.

Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

With a condition

Enriches a ServiceNow CMDB rather than acting as one.

Source: runZero integrations · Read 27 Sep 2026

Exposure managementDiffersDescribed

A smart prioritization engine and single or multi-step workflows sit on the correlated inventory; prioritization draws on findings from the tools you connect.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources

Not described on the pages we read.

Servers and network devicesDiffersPartly

Network devices are covered through adapters to network tools; a native network scanner is not described.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

Active scanning of IT, OT, IoT, cloud, mobile and remote assets.

Source: runZero platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Cloud workloadsMatches

Cloud is a listed asset type.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

Cloud assets, with AWS, Azure and Google Cloud integrations.

Source: runZero integrations · Read 27 Sep 2026

SaaS applicationsDiffersMatches

Discovers sanctioned, unsanctioned and unmanaged SaaS, including shadow apps, OAuth tokens and risky extensions.

Source: Axonius: SaaS applications · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Identities as assetsDiffersMatches

Human and non-human identities, including service accounts, API keys and automation identities.

Source: Axonius: identities · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

Entra ID is a listed integration; identities are not described as an asset class.

Source: runZero integrations · Read 27 Sep 2026

Off-network laptopsDiffersPartly

Devices are collected through the endpoint and management tools you connect, such as Microsoft Intune or CrowdStrike Falcon; no Axonius agent is described.

Source: Axonius docs: Microsoft Intune adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Matches

Remote assets are a listed class.

Source: runZero platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

OT and IoT devicesMatches

IoT and OT are listed asset types.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

Passive discovery for OT.

Source: runZero platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Internet-facing discoveryNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Offers its own agentDiffersNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Works without new agentsMatches

Collects through adapters (API connections) to tools you already run; the pages we read describe no Axonius endpoint agent.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

No agents, authentication or appliances.

Source: runZero platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Merges records from several sourcesMatches

Correlates data from every connected adapter into one record per asset.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Matches

Profiles each asset against nearly 1,000 attributes.

Source: runZero homepage · Read 27 Sep 2026

Feeds or updates a CMDBMatches

Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents.

Source: Axonius docs: ServiceNow adapter · Read 11 Oct 2026

Matches

ServiceNow integration for CMDB enrichment.

Source: runZero integrations · Read 27 Sep 2026

Cross-source queries and reportsDiffersMatches

Query Wizard for questions across all connected sources.

Source: Axonius documentation · Read 27 Sep 2026

Partly

AI-assisted reporting on the Platform plan.

Source: runZero pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Workflows, tickets or actionsDiffersMatches

Workflows run single actions or multi-step sequences with ticket tracking; enforcement sets live in the Action Center.

Source: Axonius platform · Read 27 Sep 2026

Not in our sources
Price or pricing basis publishedMatches

Device-based pricing is published: the pricing page shows a starting rate of $8.55 per asset for 15,000 to 24,999 assets, and each device seen by several tools counts once.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Matches

Community Edition free for 100 or fewer assets; runZero Platform starts at $5,000.

Source: runZero pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Free tier or trialDiffersNot in our sourcesMatches

Free, full-featured 21-day trial.

Source: runZero pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Platform it is part ofNoneNone
Integrations

1,306 adapters in its adapter directory, including documented adapters for CrowdStrike Falcon, Tenable Vulnerability Management, Rapid7 Nexpose and InsightVM, Microsoft Intune and Entra ID, and ServiceNow. We did not reproduce the full list.

Source: Axonius adapter directory · Read 11 Oct 2026

ServiceNow, CrowdStrike, Intune, AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, Entra ID, Tenable, Rapid7, Qualys, VMware, Wiz, SentinelOne, Tanium and Splunk, plus a custom integration SDK.

Source: runZero integrations · Read 27 Sep 2026

Price

Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract.

Source: Axonius pricing · Read 11 Oct 2026

Published: Community Edition free for 100 or fewer assets with 30-day retention; runZero Platform starts at $5,000 with 3-year retention; free 21-day trial.

Source: runZero pricing · Read 27 Sep 2026

Where do they differ?

  • Agent-based inventory: Axonius is not in our sources; runZero describes it with a condition.
  • Exposure management: Axonius describes it; runZero is not in our sources.
  • Servers and network devices: Axonius partly matches; runZero matches.
  • SaaS applications: Axonius matches; runZero is not in our sources.
  • Identities as assets: Axonius matches; runZero partly matches.
  • Off-network laptops: Axonius partly matches; runZero matches.
  • Cross-source queries and reports: Axonius matches; runZero partly matches.
  • Workflows, tickets or actions: Axonius matches; runZero is not in our sources.
  • Free tier or trial: Axonius is not in our sources; runZero matches.

Can they work together?

Neither vendor's pages we read name the other as an integration. That does not mean they cannot work together; ask both vendors.

Choose Axonius if

  • You already run many security and IT tools and they disagree about what exists
  • You need SaaS apps and identities in the same inventory as devices, with workflows to close gaps

Choose runZero if

  • You need to find unmanaged devices on the network, including OT, without agents
  • You want a published price and a free tier to start

Which limits should you check?

Axonius

  • Coverage depends on the tools you connect: each adapter needs API access and credentials, and no agent or native network scanner of its own is described.
  • External (internet-facing) discovery is not described on the pages we read.
  • No free tier or trial is listed on the pages we read, and the AWS Marketplace listing prices 500 assets at $90,625 for 12 months.

runZero

  • SaaS applications are not covered on the pages we read.
  • No workflow or enforcement actions of its own are described; action happens in ServiceNow or other tools.
  • Ownership changed in September 2026 (Dragos acquisition); roadmap effects are not yet published.

Questions people ask

Is Axonius or runZero better?

Neither is scored on this site. Axonius describes 3 of five approaches and runZero 3 on the pages we read, and they differ on 9 recorded facts. Which fits depends on where your assets live, whether you can install agents, your CMDB and your tools; the finder checks those.

Do Axonius and runZero work with a CMDB?

Axonius: Matches. Enforcement actions create, update, and disable or remove assets in ServiceNow, and can create ServiceNow incidents. runZero: Matches. ServiceNow integration for CMDB enrichment.

Do Axonius or runZero publish prices?

Axonius: Published: device-based pricing on unique, correlated devices, with tiers from under 500 devices to 10M+ and volume discounts in every tier. The pricing page shows "Starting at $8.55 per asset for 15,000-24,999 assets"; the billing period is not stated in what we read. AWS Marketplace listing: 500 assets for $90,625 on a 12-month contract. runZero: Published: Community Edition free for 100 or fewer assets with 30-day retention; runZero Platform starts at $5,000 with 3-year retention; free 21-day trial.

Read next

One of 45 side-by-sides. All side-by-sides